style makeover - help me clean my closet

Come in and hang-out with the girls! All off topic posts go here.
zeebs

style makeover - help me clean my closet

Post by zeebs » Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:04 pm

So, I've had it. This morning, I put on my ONLY long-sleeve thermal t-shirt, and it was STILL too small and STILL faded and STILL pink. And I was like... wait a minute... why do I keep wearing this??? And the answer is, well, I'm not really sure. It's not like I haven't HAD $50 to spend on a new three-pack of them. I mean, I've blown $50 on frivolous stuff recently. It's not like I haven't been to the mall... I have. I just didn't BUY anything. Like new thermal t-shirts. It's not like I didn't have time... I did.

I just. Plain. Didn't. Get. Around. To. It....for a while. Like, two years, awhile.

Yeah.

So I'm kind of having a fashion crisis about it! What ELSE do I own that needs to go away? Have I slipped so far down the "I'm a starving artist, I can wear whatever I want to" rabbit hole that I can't even find shirts that fit me in my own closet? That everything I own is discolored and misshapen from washing it a gazillion times?

Oh, lord. So that means, it's time for a style makeover!!! Post any helpful links about practical fashion, cleaning closets, wardrobe makeovers, etc etc etc. I am listening and looking forward to getting some help here.

Additional info - I am broke, and can't afford to spend a lot of cash. So no links to California Closets or whatever - that won't be happening.
karen
Site Admin

Re: style makeover - help me clean my closet

Post by karen » Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:01 am

I hear you. It's tough to spend time and money on yourself like that- I shop for clothes maybe twice a year. I like clothes, but it's such a chore sometimes. Do you have cable? "What Not to Wear" is a really great show for that. They really push the practical fashion tips, and I've learned tons from it.