Help I don't know what I'm doing

Here's a chance to ask makeup mavens about color selection! You can easily add your picture to posts, and get help with all of your specific makeup questions.
toddandleah

Help I don't know what I'm doing

Post by toddandleah » Sat Aug 11, 2012 2:20 pm

Newbie here on all things mineral. I've dabbled with Everyday Minerals, but I want a one-stop shop for all my make-up needs, and I haven't been all that excited about the colors I see for cheeks and eyes over there. I'm 34, mom of 4 and in the midst of a style identity crisis. Any of you 30-somethings out there chime in please. Not young anymore but not old either. I'm through the child-bearing chapter of life, and so after putting away pregnancy and nursing clothes, I'm not exactly sure what I'm supposed to look like anymore. One thing is for sure, I like it simple and fast. My over-all look is to keep things natural. I've got long dark brown hair, you can see red in it when the sun hits it. My eyes are hazel green, fair (neutral undertones - leaning more toward warm than cool). Starting to get those fine lines, sigh...

For eyeshadow - I'm trying to put together a daytime look that's not sparkly. I'm thinking a lid color, crease and highlight. Also an eyeliner color would be good too. But I don't know what will look good on me. I'd like to enhance my eye color without going crazy bold color.

For Cheeks - I lean more toward a soft flush color, not pinky but not too peachy either. When I tried the EM blush, the Snuggle color seemed to turn orange on me :( And the Soco was too pink and looked artificial. That was all the sample colors they were offering and I didn't want to shell out anymore to try something else.